To Farmers Market We Go (Village Market)

Image

In “To Farmers Market We Go”, we will go explore the many farmers markets that are held in Toronto. Even though Canada is cold, there are still some farmers markets that operate year round.  I think this is great because people always look for good produce.

There are a few farmers markets that are located within driving distance from my house. This market, Village Market, is located at a school in Thornhill (a suburban area in Toronto). In addition, they are open on every Saturday from 8:30pm to 1:30pm year round. I feel welcomed even before stepping into the market because there were signs guiding me to the market near the school.

Image

The farmers market is located in the basement of the school.  Once I got down, I already felt the sense of a community.  Pretty much everyone knows everybody and most people know what they are looking for.  Not only the vendors are selling organic produce, but also gluten-free pastries, arts and crafts, skin care products, beeswax candles, fermented vegetables and other natural health products.  There was also a massage practitioner who offered on-site seated massage. In addition, I got to try soy-free sausages (porks are fed with barleys and peas) and one of the best pestos in Toronto (OMG! THEY ARE SO YUMMY. YUM YUM!!!!). Usually pesto is made with basil, but I got to try lemon dill pesto(left, below) and coriander (right, below) pesto and they are both DELICIOUS. Those pestos made me very hungry even though I had a huge rolled oats breakfast.

Image

Another good and cool thing about this market is they offered seat and tables for people to enjoy prepared goods.  Also they also had MUSICIAN IN DA HOUSE.

Image

Overall, I would go to this farmers market again even though it is VERY SMALL because the vendors are all very nice and the produce are very fresh.  In addition, I like the positive energy (a sense of community) coming from this market. I really recommend people who live in Thornhill to come and check this out.

Here are more pictures I took.  I wanted to take more but I am afraid I will get kicked out.

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Have you been to any farmers market? What do you usually look for in a farmers market? Any good and bad comments on the farmers market you have been?  Post you comments below. Till next time. 

 

Leave a Reply

