Toronto Restaurant Review: Yogen Fruz Eaton Centre (Rating: 2 out of 5)

DSCN1277

So this past Thursday I had lunch with my friend in downtown Toronto and had a craving for desserts while I was waiting for him to get off work.  I did not want anything heavy, yet it could fill me up for a few hours until dinner.  I was at the Eaton Centre and was going to go to the Nespresso booth to get a free coffee, but the line was slow and long.  And then I walked by Yogen Fruz (DING! A LIGHT BULB JUST LIT UP IN MY HEAD!).   Yogen Fruz reminds me of my favourite peach yogurt and I thought it was wise to have yogurt in between meals because yogurt contains probiotics and is low in calories.  Therefore, I bought a small peach yogurt (right below), a small Green Tea with Mochi yogurt (middle, below) and a small Peach Berry Sunset smoothies (left, below). In total, I paid close to $14 including tax.

DSCN1268

As of the peach yogurt, it has always been my favourite and is low in calories (120 calories). I could taste the fruit and the yogurt is very smooth.  In addition, the yogurt tasted very fresh.

As of the Green Tea with Mochi yogurt,  I could not taste any of the green tea in there, BUT THE PEACH FROM MY PEACH YOGURT. I could only tell it is a green tea yogurt by the colour.  As I was doing some digging, I found peach yogurt at the bottom of my green tea yogurt bowl (picture below with arrows pointing to the peach yogurt).  The lady probably did not clean the machine well and I HATED THAT. As of the mochi in the yogurt, there were tiny, chewy mochi ball coated with icing sugar.  If you do not have a sweet tooth, I suggest you have the mochi with yogurt together.  Despite the negatives, I like it how it only contains 130 calories.

Green Tea yogurt

As of the Peach Berry Sunrise Smoothies, I highly recommend this drink to people who likes watery smoothies.  This smoothies contained peach, strawberry, apple juice and yogurt, but I felt I was drinking mixed fruits with apple juice because I thought the yogurt would make the smoothies thicker.  Also, I found the lady did not blend the smoothies properly because I found fruit chunks at the bottom (picture below with arrows pointing to the peach). THIS IS NOT GOOD!   Like the Green Tea with Mochi yogurt, the only thing like about this smoothies was it has 80 calories.

peach smoothies

Ultimately, I suggest you stick with your favourite flavours if you are a Yogen Fruz fan because chances are the other flavours may not be as good as you think.  If you have not had Yogen Fruz before and you want to try now, I suggest you get their fruit yogurts.

Have you been to any Yogen Fruz location? What is your favourite? Post your comments below. Till next time. 

P.S. Here is how my rating system works:

0 out of 5 – Disgusting. The restaurant should shut down right now. 

1 out of 5 – Mediocre. How come the restaurant is still around? 

2 out of 5 – Disappointed. They can do better =[

3 out of 5 – Satisfied. One of best place to eat.

4 out of 5 – Excellent. I am the restaurant’s regular customer. 

5 out of 5 – Exceptional. I would recommend the restaurant to my friends and family. 

Yogen Früz on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

