Fitness Tuesday: Why Is Everyone Obsessed with Yoga?

Yoga-ook-goed-voor-sceptici1

I have done regular yoga and hot yoga before, but I did not like it.

I don’t know. I rather attend cardio classes to have a good sweat than participate yoga classes to do stretches on my yoga mat for the whole class.

Therefore, I did some research on people’s reasons to practice yoga and I found interesting ones. Here are some:

1) Have Better Sex – According to research in The Journal of Sexual Medicine, sexually dissatisfied women who took up yoga and practiced mindfulness techniques reported higher levels of arousal and desire, and better orgasms.  Also, Yogi Cameron, a Iranian yoga and Ayurveda therapist, said strengthened concentration skills in yoga help men focus their minds and better channel their sexual energy, thus helping to prevent premature ejaculation.  WOW! No wonder a lot of people do yoga!

2) Lululemon – Some people practice yoga as a reason to buy Lululemon gears.  I don’t mean to offend any Lululemon fans, but I think Lululemon’s clothes are VERY EXPENSIVE.

3) I Am Able To Lose Weight Without Sweating –  I am not too sure how yoga helps people keep off the pounds, but yoga develops mental strength, which is crucial for losing weight.

4) I Get To Meet New People – I totally agree you can meet like-minded people in group exercises.  But if you are practicing yoga  just to meet new people, but not for your personal health, you are doing yoga for the wrong reason.

5) Detoxification – Again! I am not too sure how yoga moves toxins out of our organs, at least in the scientific standpoint. Basically, detoxification means cleaning the blood. This is done by removing impurities from the blood in the liver, where toxins are processed for elimination. The body also eliminates toxins through the kidneys, intestines, lungs, lymph and skin.  Therefore, any exercises that increase your circulation and make you sweat are able to help detoxify your body.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate yoga with a passion.  In fact, I incorporate yoga moves to my warm-up before my exercise sessions because yoga gets me flexible, which prevents workout injuries.  I just prefer cardio exercises and I know cardio exercises are right for me.  I also believe people should be engaged in workout that are right for them, not the ones their friends do.

Do you like practicing yoga? How long have you been doing yoga? What is your favourite pose? Post your comments below. Till next time!

 

2 thoughts on “Fitness Tuesday: Why Is Everyone Obsessed with Yoga?

  1. I have been practicing yoga on and off for 10 years. I got more serious with it in the last year. Yoga helps one lose weight because it SHOULD make you work up a sweat (perhaps the classes you took were too easy for you?), and the lean muscle you gain burns calories while you rest at a higher rate than fat does.
    I like yoga because I enjoy the mind-body connection it nurtures…I took ballet/dance from age 2 through 23 and had to stop because I couldn’t find a conveniently located class that suited my needs. Yoga is the closest thing to ballet’s discipline and beauty that I’ve found.
    You hit the nail on the head at the end of your post: you need to find an exercise that YOU like to do, otherwise you won’t keep it up!

    • I first started to do yoga when I was in post-secondary and the teacher spent the first 15 minutes and last minutes meditating. So we did not do much. Then I did hot yoga for a while (referred by a friend), and I loved it because I got to sweat a lot. However, I got rashes eventually so I stopped. Then I took yoga at my local gym and it was mixed of cardio and yoga, which did not make sense to me. So maybe you are right that the classes I took may be too easy for me.

      I am currently doing Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, so I do not think I will go back to do yoga unless I have to work on my flexibility.

      Ultimately, the purpose of the post was to tell people to find an exercise that they love to do. Some people are doing things for the wrong reason. I did not mean to offend yoga at all.

Leave a Reply

