Fitness Tuesday: Why Is Everyone Obsessed With Biking?

USA_Pro_Cycling_Stage6

I used to bike a lot when I was younger because this was what my family did every weekend.

As I got older, I biked less because I could not go up the hills in my neighbourhood with my little bike.

Since I did not like biking that much, my parents did not even bother to buy me a better bike.

…and that is why I have not biked for a VERY LONG TIME.

Having said that, the bike racks at my local transit station sparked my interest in biking again.  Not only biking is great exercise, but it is a very affordable transportation method.

I am also wondering why people are obsessed with biking:

1) For the alone time and happiness – True! Biking is very personal unless you are riding a 2-seated bike with your friends.  Biking is also a exercise, so biking helps in relieving stress and keeping focus.

2) Alternative to running – I totally agree! Biking is an alternative to running because you knees and ankles do not have to work so hard.  As a result, biking is good for people who have minor knee or ankle problems.   In addition, biking probably burns more calories than running, which is great if you are in a weight loss program.  An average person could easily burn 700 calories in an hour just by riding at 15 to 20 km/h. 

3) Convenience – I couldn’t agree more!  You don’t need to drive anywhere to start exercising, and you can simply pedal from home. And, you could bike to work or to your local transit station if you do not have time to hit the gym. Biking won’t take much longer than driving and you’ll feel great when you get to work because you’ve exercised and avoided the stress of traffic. 

4) Save the planet – This is totally for environmentally-friendly individuals!  On average, twenty bicycles can be parked in the same space as one car. It also takes around five percent of the materials and energy used to make a car to build a bike, and a bike produces zero pollution.  In addition, riding a bike do not create any pollutant.

5) Affordable – I am not quite sure about this because biking can be expensive depends on what you looking for.  You can get a bike for a few hundreds of dollars if you are an amateur biker who mainly uses your bike for commuting or exercising.  However, you could spend thousands of dollars if you are doing mountain biking or competing in 5k  or 10k. It really depends on what you want to accomplish as a biker.

Do you love biking? You agree on my points above? Post your comments below! Till next time!

2 thoughts on “Fitness Tuesday: Why Is Everyone Obsessed With Biking?

  1. ive been wanting to get a bike for a few years but haven’t pulled the trigger… my boyfriend and i went to look at bikes a few weekends ago and found some that would suit our needs (nothing fancy, just something to roll around the neighborhood on) for less than $100!
    Just fyi, running burns far more calories per mile than riding a bicycle, but since riding has less impact on a body than running it is possible for someone in training to bike longer than they could run.

Leave a Reply

