Bonus Healthy Recipe: Kale and Couscous Soup (8 Servings)

I am sorry that I did not post anything for Easy Healthy Wednesday and Thursday because of work.

And I did not want to post a random recipe just to stick with the schedule.  I want to post recipes that actually work and are delicious.

Today, I have made a vegetarian made with kale and couscous.  Couscous may not be a common ingredient for soups, but it works in this one. Here were how I made it:

3 stocks celery, diced

1 red onion, julienned

3 tomatoes, seeded and diced

2 carrots, diced

2 cups gluten-free couscous

1 cup kale, cut

1 can white kidney, drained

5 bay leaves

2 teaspoons thyme

5 leaves fresh basil, chopped

2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped

1 tablespoon olive oil

8 cups water

salt and grounded white pepper to taste

DSCN1825

 

1) Heat a casserole pot over medium-high heat. Put olive oil in the pot.  Cook onion over medium heat until soften.

DSCN1827

2) Cook celery and carrot until celery soften.  Pour water and put bay leaves into pot and boil in high heat.  When water boil, bring down the heat to low heat and let the mixture simmer for at least 30 minutes until you smell a big aroma from the pot.

DSCN1829

 

3) Pour tomatoes and kale into pot for a few minutes.  Pour kidney beans and simmer for a few minutes.

DSCN1832

4) Flavour soup with basil, thyme, parsley, salt and white pepper.  Serve when ready.

DSCN1835

 

OH MY GOD!  I tasted the sweetness of the vegetables and I gave full credit to the white peppers.  I found white peppers are better in bringing out the flavours from the vegetables.  However, North Americans are used to using black peppers, so it is very hard to change their habits.

To my surprise, the couscous did not suck up as many liquid as I thought, but the couscous gave a different texture than the vegetables.  Also, I used gluten-free couscous because quinoa is too expensive and the only substitute I could find is gluten-free couscous.  This gluten-free couscous is corn based.

Finally, I feel very happy about this because my whole family loves this soup. If you are vegetarian or allergic to gluten, you should try this soup!

 

2 thoughts on “Bonus Healthy Recipe: Kale and Couscous Soup (8 Servings)

Leave a Reply

