Bonus Healthy Recipe: Alcohol-Free Strawberry Smoothie Punch (My First Attempt)

This recipe is inspired by a similar recipe I saw in a free magazine I picked up at my local supermarket.

I figured it would be interested to see if I could make an alcohol-free version of this recipe.   Perhaps I could make this into a smoothie as well.

Wouldn’t it be very cool if you taste alcohol in your smoothie without any alcohol in it?

Let’s see how I made it:

2 cups white wine

2 cups apple juice

1/4 cup granulated sugar

7 frozen strawberries, hulled and cubed

juice of half lemon

1/4 cup crushed ice

mint for garnish

DSCN1890

 

1) Heat pan over medium-high heat. Heat wine for 5 to 10 minutes to release alcoholic vapour.  Set aside and let wine cool for at least 30 minutes in the refridgerator.

DSCN1895

 

2) Put every ingredient except mint leaves in the blender.  Blend until smooth.

DSCN1899

3) Serve smoothies when ready.  Garnish with strawberries and mint leaves.

DSCN1907

This drink was delicious.  I could taste the alcohol, but was not enough to knock me down.  I also tasted the strawberries.  The apple juice and lemon juice were in the drink to enhance the flavour of strawberries.

I could have flambe the wine, but I do not want to burn my parents’ house down.

But if you know how to properly flambe alcohol at home, give this recipe a try!

Leave a Reply

